Vote Ready

National elections, Local elections, Referendas and "People's Vote" - who knows what or when?

What you can know by registering on the electoral role today is:

    a) You are ready for what lies ahead.

    b) You are likely to have improved your credit rating for the future.

Register to vote at


How do I check if I'm registered to vote?

Every local authority holds the electoral register for their own area. There is no online electoral roll.

To check if you are registered to vote, you will need to contact your local electoral registration office.

Find the contact details for your local electoral registration office.

In Northern Ireland, the electoral register is held by the Electoral Office for Northern Ireland (EONI).


I'm already registered at my "home-town" address, but I might not be there on polling day?

That isn't a problem. As a student, you can be registered at more than one address or you can apply for a postal vote so that you can still vote without having to travel.

You just need to printout, complete and sign this form and send it off to arrive 11 days BEFORE polling day.


I thought I was automatically registered to vote

In late 2015 the government made changes to the way in which you register to vote.

Previously, a family member or your university could do it for you. But now the Individual Electoral Registration (IER) has been introduced and it means you have to do it yourself.

Research found this led to hundreds of thousands of people dropping off the electoral register overnight.


I'm an International/European Student, so I don't think I can register to vote.

Wrong (probably!)

EU Citizens resident in the UK, qualifying Commonwealth citizens resident in the UK, Crown dependency resdidents and British Overseas territories  are all eligable to register and vote.


Antigua and Barbuda Kiribati Sierra Leone
Australia Lesotho Singapore
The Bahamas Malawi Solomon Islands
Bangladesh Malaysia South Africa
Barbados Malta* Sri Lanka
Belize Mauritius Swaziland
Botswana Mozambique The Gambia
Brunei Darussalam Namibia Tonga
Cameroon Nauru Trinidad and Tobago
Canada New Zealand Tuvalu
Cyprus* Nigeria Uganda
Dominica Pakistan United Kingdom
Fiji Islands** Papua New Guinea United Republic of Tanzania
Ghana Rwanda Vanuatu
Grenada St Kitts & Nevis Zambia
Guyana St Lucia Zimbabwe
India St Vincent & The Grenadines  
Jamaica Samoa  
Kenya Seychelles  

*Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in all elections held in the UK.

**Citizens of Fiji and Zimbabwe retain their voting rights despite the countries having been suspended from the Commonwealth.


Isle of Man
The Channel Islands (including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands).


British Antarctic Territory
British Indian Ocean Territory
British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands
Falkland Islands
Pitcairn Island
St Helena and dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Sovereign base areas on Cyprus
Turks and Caicos Islands


Former residents of Hong Kong who hold a British Dependent Territories, British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport also qualify for registration.



Austria Italy
Belgium Latvia
Bulgaria Lithuania
Croatia Luxemburg
Cyprus Malta
Czech Republic Netherlands
Denmark Poland
Estonia Portugal
Finland Romania
France Slovakia
Germany Slovenia
Greece Spain
Hungary Sweden
Ireland United Kingdom


So what are you waiting for?

Lets get you registeredarrow to move on